Steep On It

DSCN8683

Homemade Chai Tea

  • 2 quarts (8 cups) of water
  • 8 bags of black tea (I used English Breakfast)
  • 1/2 cup of honey//sugar//agave//stevia
  • 16 whole cloves
  • 16 whole cardamom seeds
  • 5 cinnamon sticks
  • 8 slices fresh ginger

Combine all ingredients in crockpot on High for 2 or 2 1/2 hours
Strain mixture and refrigerate up to 3 days or use right away hot.
To serve: take tea and mix with almond milk right before drinking.

Today was a day to make cards and water herbs, drink chai and go on a long walk around our town. Rizo and I hit up the Art Museum and thought about the potential of this summer.

This recipe is from a book my old roomie gave me for my birthday last year. As I was making it, I was thinking back on how I’ve had AMAZING memories these last two years in Grand Rapids and yet how they have been the fastest years of my life.
Got me thinking more about the comparison of my life and this chai…
The longer the tea steeps, the stronger it gets…
At various points throughout the steeping process it tastes good, sometimes things need to get added and changed and altered though…
There’s not really a “Best Point”, its more like a “Variety of Marvelous Flavors”

Then life was awesome, now life is awesome, and next year it’ll be awesome.
There’s just different kinds of awesome..
We all have our variations of ‘chai’ that we like; we all have different points where we love where we are at.

While I’m complaining about my digestive tract and not being able to eat some of my favorite recipes, someone else down the street is praying they could have anything to eat.

Our circumstances are all different. Your passions are not my passions, our environments are different and our preferences of toilet paper vary.

So, for me, my awesome point in life right now is that I’m discovering my purpose; what God is leading me into.

What is your ‘chai tea’ these days—what’s made you stronger and what are you enjoying right now? Take time to steep on it.

Leave a Reply

