Face It: You’re Nearsighted

Week 4…
…Rooted {our couples Bible Study group on Wednesday nights}…

“Where is God in the midst of suffering?”

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. –Philippians 4:6-7

In David’s writings in the Bible he has a Psalm {{number 57 in fact}} that hits on this particular category in our lesson. Mi Amor and I did our reading and asked/answered the questions in the car.

David’s Psalm has a point in it where he says, “I am in the midst of lions” and it was at this point that I really connected.

This guy really knew what it was like to have tragedy and heartache surround him. I mean, seriously, he at one point was chased in order to be killed, later in his life he killed a man because of his lust for that man’s wife.. the list goes on about this guy.. who in fact was ‘a man after God’s own heart’..
If I take words to heart, its because I feel a connection with that person, and David hits me in Psalm 57.

I thought to myself a combination of a quote and David’s words:
“Even so, in the midst of lions, it is well”

We followers of God will have trial, tragedy, and flat out mountain climbing. Confusion, heartache, and anger are natural responses. There is something more we can cling to than our rocky emotions; the hope of God’s promises.

Question:
All of us have gone through times of despair or feeling completely alone. In that time, what were your feelings about your situation and about God?

Answer:
2013 was a year of hell and heaven for me. I was overcome with eczema all over my body at various times, due from a digestive issue that was unknown until 11 months later. August, though, I married my best friend.
Around Thanksgiving it got to its worst and I thought, no way am I more useful to God right now than with my old skin. I was angry and despised God for allowing my story to be like Job’s in the Bible. Why had He allowed this horrific event to take over all of me–my thoughts, my actions, feelings, physical and emotional well-being?!
I was almost in complete dependence on whether I would do something because of the potential reaction of my skin–would it hurt to make dinner? Can I hug my mom back while I cry all over her shoulder in anger at God? Can I just stay inside and not hang out with my best friends for fear of an itching cycle that will shred my skin even more?
…I’m useless…

Thoughts of burning my skin and it being better to shred my skin with a grater came to my dreams {whenever I was actually able to sleep}

My feelings were roller coasters and based upon my circumstances.
Victor Frankl has a good quote on that.

My baseline for this week is knowing that I’m going to go through a lot of recovery and looking back on how far I’ve come in the last year.
God has been faithful in healing me and giving me resources. I believe His plan for my life would not be as passionate without the occurrence of this circumstance.
I am beginning to look at myself and think,
“Your husband is right, you are beautiful”
and
I’m sorta starting to thank God for putting me through Hell in order to be His instrument, this is an honor… because you know what?
He has HUGE plans for my life…as I look back, I can see His plans.. He is using me.

Just be honest with God–He can handle it,
{{WHAT HURTS?}}

Leave a Reply

