Excess Socks

I want more intentional sacrifice in my life. I want to work on my character.
Romans 5:3-5
“Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out His love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom He has given us.”

Working on our character brings us closer to our Lord, because we are aligning our will with His, we are becoming more like Him.

I’m focusing on excess material possessions.
Our surroundings tell us to buy this and buy that and eventually we have a mountain of excess. How does that effect our character? It pretty much makes us idolize quantity and quality rather than being thankful for a few things and giving to those who don’t have anything.
My dad told me once,
“No matter how small or big of a house you have,
you’ll always fill it with more than you need.”

Mi Amor and I have been married 6 months (yesterday!) and we ALREADY have too much stuff. We live simply, but we still have so much that we don’t need in our lives.
How about we fix that…
I love spring cleaning, it means warm weather is right around the corner, the scent of rain is in the air as well as the hope of fresh starts, like the backboard for New Years Day.

{I have a ‘pre-spring cleaning’ challenge for you}

If you have a library close or happen to know someone who has this book, or if you yourself have this book, read it again.
MORE OR LESS
by
Jeff Shinabarger

 

It all started with one idea: What would happen if we created a culture in which we gave away whatever was more than enough for us? How would our habits change if we shed the excess of money, clutter, and food in our lives? In More or Less, readers will learn how to draw a line of “enough” in their consumer choices, how to see generosity as a chance to experience freedom in a greedy world, and how to make small changes now that will help others forever. As Shinabarger reminds them, defining “enough” is more than a responsibility—it is an opportunity to give hope.

How would your character change if you suffered through some cleaning with me?
Pick an area of your home, whether it be:
~Kitchen~Living Room~Linen Closet~Basement~Attic~Bedroom~Grandpa Jo’s sock drawer~
Wherever there is an OBVIOUS excess or OBSESSION.
Go through it all, lay out stuff, dust while you’re there in the corner and make a pile of what you’re going to rid yourself of.

Instead of just ‘putting it in a cardboard box and letting it sit in the trunk of your car until you roll by Goodwill and toss it into Billy’s arms before you go to Wendy’s’, think about this differently:
We’re working on character here, how is that going to challenge you, except for the choice to spend time cleaning rather than in front of Netflix?
If you have excess mixing bowls and baskets and containers, use them as as base for a present to someone.
Give away packages.
Do it mysteriously if you’d like.
Listen to the needs of those around you.

  • Fill that silver mixing bowl with the unopened bottle of nail polish, shampoo and conditioner, and make your own little bath salts.
  • Take those extra coffee mugs and put a bag of homemade hot cocoa and a card in it.
  • You know that closet? Take your tshirts and cut squares to make a quilt. If you have enough blankets, give one away with an extra winter hat and scarf—seek out someone in a public place that is homeless. If you’re traveling by car, have a thermos of soup that you made from that excess cupboard food.

All I’m really getting at is

BE INTENTIONAL WITH WHO YOU ARE
AND
WHO YOUR CHARACTER REFLECTS

Romans 12:1 & 2
“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—His good, pleasing and perfect will.”

I want to know God’s will for my life, the deeper direct will other than the Great Commission. I figure, besides praying for it, I should start working on my character to become like Him, then I’ll be ready for His direction.

{Join me in this challenge and this sacrifice}
What I’m going to do: go through my closet and eliminate half—this is what I feel God asking of me.

One thought on “Excess Socks

  1. very apropos title because I have some footlet socks for you that are mix-matched(that’s how they come) that I originally bought for Joyce C for her birthday, but when I saw they were kind of wild and not matched, I thought you would like them!!!  Good thoughts in your blog….I hope to reduce and organize during the rest of this winter. Love, Mama do you need a reading lamp…the one that was on top of the computer unit?

    Like

Leave a Reply

