Oh, Nurten, You’ll Help Somehow

DSCN7961

This is kefir {keh-feer}
correction:
this is MY kefir
*smile*
Thanks to a talk with another hospital worker, she gave me some of her kefir on Sunday. This is the picture of when I poured the milk into a glass and added more milk to the kefir jar.
Let me tell you what I know about kefir so you know what this crazy thing is I’m doing.

Just as each of our fingerprints is different, the bacterial content of the colon in each person is likewise different.—Kefir Blog

grzybek-tybetanski-przeciwwskazania

This is kefir uncovered; cauliflower is what it really reminds me of.

Kefir means “feels good” in Turkish

Unlike yogurt, kefir contains around thirty strains of bacteria and yeast, mostly including lactobacillus bacteria.–Grow Youthful

Do not keep your kefir in a metal container like copper, iron or aluminium. Preferably store it in a glass or ceramic container.
You can make kefir with nut milks, and nut kefir is apparently delicious. However the nut milk destroys the kefir grains, so you can only make it when you have got some spare grains.
{you get spare grains because it will continue to grow and grow in your jar. This allows you to give them away to friends who have health issues or who want to remain healthy. If you don’t have friends who can do this, then you have extra kefir grains}

Bacteria and yeasts typically found in milk kefir

Bacteria:

Lactobacillus.
l. brevis has been identified as the species responsible for the production of the polysaccharide (dextran) that forms the grains.
l. casei. Produces lots of lactic acid; colonises well in the gastric tract; creates a favourable medium in which other beneficial bacteria can grow; inhibits putrefaction and harmful bacteria; increases immune function; helps protect against bacterial infections.
l. hilgardii
l. plantarum. Produces lactic acid; fights listeria monocytogenes; makes plantaricin; inhibits a large number of Gram-positive bacteria – the type of bacteria that cause spoilage.
Streptococcus.
s. cremoris. Has similar properties to s. lactis.
s. diacetylactis. Produces carbon dioxide in the kefir; makes diacetyl, which gives kefir its characteristic odour; other properties similar to s. lactis.
s. lactis. Produces lactic acid, aids digestion, inhibits harmful microorganisms, produces bacteriolysins.
Pediococcus.
Leuconostoc.

Yeasts:

Saccharomyces.
Candida.
Kloeckera and possibly others.

Anyways, so this great probiotic is a alive and I’m calling mine Nurten. In Turkish it means “radiant skin”.

Day 1: the taste was a little tart and tangy–it reminded me of the ‘original’ flavor of frozen yogurt you can get at: TuttiFrutti, Sweetyos, Pink Berry, Pump House, or whatever other crazy name you have near you.
I blending mine into a shake though–since I can’t eat much on the anti-candida diet, I used this opportunity of tangy flavor to be a base for my “go-green” powder, carob powder, and ice. NutriBullet blended it wonderfully and it tasted pretty good. I’m willing to perfect the flavor. Maybe tomorrow I’ll do lemon and ginger? Worth a try at least.
The lovely lady who gifted Nurten to me told me that I should take the next few days to decide how much milk I should put in it to determine the consistency I like the best. Today I put in 2/3 of a cup. Tomorrow we shall see how different it was from today.

On to new adventures, new trials, new testings, and new beginnings.

3 thoughts on “Oh, Nurten, You’ll Help Somehow

Leave a Reply

