Still Sweet

Okay, so if you’ve followed my blog at all, you know that I LOVE cooking and baking and trying to find healthy alternatives to those overwhelming amounts of sugar and fats that make our delicious dishes..well, delicious! 

Since my detox diet (anti-candida) I’ve found that food isn’t involved as much anymore. Its harder to find an art in the few foods that I can eat, so when I make stuff for Mi Amor, I’m disconnected. I can’t taste it to see if there is enough flavor or the texture is proper… I have learned to say, “I’m not going to be offended if you put sauce or more herbs on this.”

I don’t want him eating terribly because I don’t have a good digestive system..or whatever is wrong with me…

So, today, after dropping Mi Amor off at work, I headed to Gram and Gramp’s house to bake up a storm and visit!

Listening to music…
…enjoying the smells of cinnamon…
…the sight of fluffy snow and squirrels dancing across it…
…and resisting all the things I’m making and HOPING that they taste good… if you can’t tell—that’s the lame part.

I’m staying strong and while I was baking I made myself a yummy little dish:

Melt coconut oil and add carob powder, cinnamon, and ground flaxseed. Place in sprayed baking dish. For the filling I melted peanut butter only made from peanuts (nothing added) and plain, all natural yogurt (no sugar or additives) almonds, and walnuts. Tablespoon of pure vanilla (or from the bean).
Bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

Eat from the dish and enjoy a few spoonfuls before you start eating all those wonderful cookies and scones and bars that you just made…

I love Grandma and Grandpa. Its such a joy to be here…
She mentioned that this is the first time I’ve been here baking as a married woman. I adore our talks and time together… It was just her and I this morning, since Grandpa was at work.
Well, we are leaving shortly for lunch with friends after a seminar on “Renting Lacy” a anti-trafficking story of a woman who was prostituted.

Leave a Reply

