Unexpected Twists of a Young Marriage

Working in a hospital, I see torn lives every day.
What follows after exiting a patient’s room is generally a scene I make up in my head which places either Mi Amor or I in that position of danger. My visions are deep and brutal, filled with full on gore and shock. I don’t know how I have this mind that so simply takes me into the world of my thoughts…however horrible they are…

What if one day, this nightmare became my reality?

This is a recap of that reality beginning yesterday morning.

Ensuring Mi Amor was set with lunch as well as breakfast, I threw together the same for myself. As he shoves a bite of my homemade muesli and yogurt in his mouth, I kiss him on the cheek, tell him I love him and that I can’t wait to be home with him that evening. I am so blessed to have an incredible husband who I haven’t fought with and who I haven’t gone to bed or work mad at. I am so thankful that we started that morning well off. I jumped on my bike, peddling away on down to the pharmacy, where I tied my sweater around my waist to cover the water mark thrown by the bike tire that lined my back. The rain was coming down when I was biking, but thankfully it had stopped shortly thereafter.
Upon hearing huddle, I took my tech that I was training that day up to the main hospital with a med cart. We were exchanging the boxes from the day before, with fresh meds for those patients that day. I remember being in the middle of telling him about patient safety and how health care is something to CARE about, when my coworker from downstairs comes rapidly walking towards us. I look at her as she tells me with hurt in her eyes, “Sarah, I just got two calls saying your husband is down in ER.” I honestly, stared at her and thought to myself, This can’t be possible….
Then as I realized that she was truly standing in front of me telling me this, I put my hand over my mouth and said, “Oh, God…”
I focused on one thing: Getting to my husband.
I ran to the elevator and a man who I enjoy seeing up in surgery when I refill the pyxis was there. At this moment, I was forced to stop moving and as the doors closed and he turned to me, he asked, “Sarah, good morning, how are ya?” I looked at him and was drowned with reality. He held me and told me, “I’ll be praying for you,” as the doors opened and I ran off.
I began praying, also just thinking, and completely lost in a world of shock all at the same time.

I got through to ER in my back way and asked some familiar faces where my husband was, “Cameron, his name is Cameron.”
One of the kind men was Cory, who ended up being the Physician’s Assistant. “He’s in room 36.” I walked the ten feet to the room where I saw his clothes and no bed…I instantly thought the worst, how could I not? He must be in a trauma room… I walked back to Cory and I demanded in panic, “Where is my husband?”
“Oh, honey, you don’t know what happened?”
I began crying uncontrollably and placed my head on the counter.
“Sarah, he’s okay, my name’s Cory, I’m his PA, he’s just getting a catscan.”
I look up at him and nod my head in acknowledgement.
“There is the officer, he might need some info,” Cory directed.
I walked over, crying and trying to pull myself together before I saw Cameron, “I’m his wife,”
The officer nodded and asked if I knew what happened. I, of course, did not. I told him some personal info and then went to touch Cameron’s clothes. Obviously, there wasn’t a lot of blood and as I touched his sweater, I looked over and laughed gently between crying, “His fifty pound backpack probably helped save his life…” This is when I recalled that morning, I did kiss him right? I did say I love him right? How could I have known how to prepare for this…oh God, please help us. 

I knew where catscan was and so I thought, I can wait outside the doors.
I began to walk out of room 36 and as I looked down the corridor, I saw him….sitting up and staring down the hall at me. I ran/walked down to him as he asked if I could come into catscan too. I followed and as soon as he was turned around and made eye contact with me, I said, “I love you” as he responded I placed my hand over my mouth to try to calm myself from my tears…which of course came like a river.
I saw no broken bones or fractures at all. I praised our Protector.

As she wheeled him back to room 36, I held his arm and cried. He placed his unscathed hand on my head and stroked my hair, “I’m okay”
I nodded while replaying his message in my head, over and over…He’s okay, he’s okay, he’s okay…

I called his dad, his mom, my dad, his three professors, and through all six calls I cried uncontrollably at the reality of life.
A driver was coming from the north, had a stop sign, and apparently checked for headlights before he got to the intersection, didn’t see any and went to do a sort of ‘rolling stop’ while not really seeking out more than headlights. From Cameron’s perspective he was cruzing down the street in his bike lane, when all of a sudden he ran into the side of a van, it was as if it just appeared. Bashing his face into the side he toppled over off of his bike and onto the street. He got up and told the guy, “i’m fine, i’m okay”
Cameron, obviously not seeing his own face, was in shock.
The driver told him they were going down to ER.
Cameron walked with his uncouthly heavy backpack after stashing his bike in some bushes, the football field to the ER. {He was only four blocks from our home}
He was admitted and told them, “My wife works in the inpatient pharmacy, tell her I’m okay.”

I sat there looking at him through my overly puffy eyes…
After seven stitches in his upper lip, about twenty in his chin, between two gashes, and another large number on his knee, he was looking at me telling me, “I’m sorry for scaring you,”
“What? Cameron, its not your fault…we are so blessed you are alive.”
Saying that word…alive…it made me lose it all over again…
It took me until the next morning to actually be able to control my emotions. All throughout that day, I was hit over and over again with the thought of being alone, that he really should be dead…two more seconds and he could’ve been dead..or paralized, or in critical care from a broken back, hips, and concussion…
Instead, our Protector had His hand upon Cameron, I know that for sure.
I woke up periodically throughout the night to check his breathing and see if he was still alright, the danger wasn’t over if he had a concussion that put him out over night…
But, I was able to make it to work after giving him instructions to text me every hour and let me know what he is doing, how he is feeling-if vision changes, etc…
He took a little walk down to meet me for lunch, which I was thankful for the boost of life to help keep me awake through the day. I arrived home to some fall-colored leaves…a tradition that he has done every year through our relationship. He still touches my heart and romances me so delicately even when he has every right to be selfish.

Throughout the day of the accident, after taking paid-time-off, I stuck by him so close, never letting him out of my sight for too long. So many thoughts were shared. I treasure my time with him, and I still had a great time being with him even as he has been in this state.
I am so proud of my husband, he is the best patient ever. No complaints, no ‘woe is me’, no cursing God, nothing. He is walking, breathing, eating, reading. He is alive. He has been handling this like a champ, and there is no way that I have could see such a heart that I need to cherish, except in these tragedies. He is mine. He is my one-of-a-kind husband who is perfect for me and who I am blessed to have the honor of being his wife.

I’m supposed to grow old with you…
I have prayed that our home be one of healing. I want our home to be a haven of peace and rest and for those who are broken and hurting. Find comfort here in the testimonies of our healing through the power of our Doctor.

DSCN7606
Ephesians 7:13 & 14
Consider what God has done, Who can straighten what he has made crooked?
When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other.
 Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future.

One thought on “Unexpected Twists of a Young Marriage

Leave a Reply

