An Engagement Trek

The Day It All Changed

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

His Enchantment

He gave me spring before it was even here. 

Cameron got out of work early and had picked me up for a surpise date–which turned out to be the Frederick Meijer Gardens.
We updated each other on our lives, because he had gone back to his parent’s house for the weekend. {which was when he went to ask my dad’s permission and blessing}
At this point, the sky was overcast and gloomy.
We walked the butterfly gardens, spotted our favorites, laughed and turned into big kids. I really needed the refreshment of this ‘indoor spring’ to brighten my spirits. It rejuvinated me and I was having a great time. I was enchanted by the butterflies and flowers, and of course, being with my best friend completed it all. 

Cameron suggested we take a walk outside to the children’s sculpture park.
At this point, the clouds were still heavy with gray.
We climbed on the tree house and read the plaques, listening for birds and reading about the trees…he made me laugh and smile so much…

Cameron lead me down the boardwalk where we paused to overlook the frozen water, suddenly the sun shone brightly for a window of about ten minutes.
He, of course, took the opportunity to say, “Sarah, I have a question for you.”
I was in a day dreaming moment with my eyes closed, face to the sun, “Mmmhmm” I responded.
{We always play the question game, so I didn’t think anything of it}
“It’s a big one…”
He dropped to one knee and I was tearing up and smiling so much I couldn’t see.
“Sarah, Will you marry me?”

I was already having a perfect day because he practically handed me spring and now this?!
I took his face in my hands and responded, “Every day of my life; yes”

I then spent the next five minutes laughing and saying, “Really!?” “No Way…” “Are you serious?!”

The sky then returned to gloom, it snowed huge flakes, and began hailing by the time we got to the car. God’s surely got His hand in this.
I am convinced that ten minutes of sunshine was for our moment.

Even as I type this, it seems like I’m just that little girl, planning her dream wedding.
In all reality, I can’t believe he chose me. 

2 thoughts on “An Engagement Trek

  1. Sarah Joy, I loved reading this, hearing about how he asked and knowing that you are soon to be my cousin forever 🙂 I’m so glad Cameron chose you!
    Love, Anna ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

