Corinthian Clown Mirrors

The more and more I think about what love truly means, the more I feel the need to search deeper.

Love…this word….I don’t understand it as much as I thought I did.

I began, in the month of December, while making my norwegian cookies, memorizing 1 Corinthians 13.
This is how our Saviour works…memorize//read the Scripture & it’ll come to your head in times of His message to you.

This is how I know God is real, because I feel the Spirit in me, which could only happen by sending His Son.

I adore the fact that no matter what I’m feeling, I can always share that simple truth. Mood doesn’t change what isn’t false, it affects the absorption in our lives though.

And so, here I sit, actually taking a moment of my day to blog, because my mind has been raging & it needs to type it out.

Back to Love.
If you don’t have it, not even speaking in tongues will matter. If you don’t posses it, but can fathom the future, you’re still nothing. If you give give give but have not love, you gain nothing.

When perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.

Love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud . It is not rude, it is not self-seeking. {WHEW!} it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs {Every day’s a new one!} Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

Webster defines: A strong affection created by personal ties; an unselfish concern for another; inspired by affection…or my personal favorite, the score of zero in a tennis match.

In English, love refers to a variety of different feelings, states, and attitudes, ranging from pleasure (“I loved that meal”) to interpersonal attraction (“I love my partner”). “Love” may refer specifically to the passionate desire and intimacy of romantic love, to the sexual love of eros, to the emotional closeness of familial love, to the platonic love that defines friendship,[4] or to the profound oneness or devotion of religious love,[5] or to a concept of love that encompasses all of those feelings. This diversity of uses and meanings, combined with the complexity of the feelings involved, makes love unusually difficult to consistently define, compared to other emotional states.

“Complexity of feelings involved”…hmm, I like that. Yes, there are so many emotions intertwined that make “love” hard to define, but also to carry through.

What good am I if I understand and have a personal relationship by the greatest Love of all, but choose other feelings over the pure love I’m called to show?

I have been created in His image, which means I have the capacity to love. As well, I have a differing love than some other people. “phileo” is not the same as “agape”. Give, Sacrifice, Expect nothing back; unconditional.

Alrighty, so we know in general what it should look like, so why does our mood get in the way?
Hmmpf. Is it because I’m a self-centered, impatient, unforgiving fool? …yeah, actually. I guess my human nature is the biggest and most direct way of answering that.

~~~
Last night at work, the third shift pharmacist came over to sincerely thank me for all my hard work the previous night, which really helped their night goes smooth. I was glad to be of service. A fellow tech popped in the convo and said “She’s always nice, that’s why she’s popular”
I replied, “ha, popular, me? it’s because I’m new if anything”
And I was touched when a few other voices came in and said they really appreciated my kindness.
I ended up being on huddle board for recognition of being “a rock star” & “always a team player”
~~~
I’m rejuvenated by the fact that I can show this ‘agape’ love to my friends & family. My tattoo has really helped push me towards that, reminding me every day.

Now, I struggle most with this “agape” love towards Mi Amor. Its so very different when you’re showing it to someone you are passionate about.
Passion gets in the way…it turns into one of those clown-mirrors at the amusement park that distorts the original purity.
DARN YOU CLOWN MIRROR!!!!!!!!!!

I’m sure I’ll be having more discoveries about love and I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

