Bananas, Oats, and a Teaspoon of Joy

I have reviewed my priorities,
{here are a few}

  •  to continue in my ‘domestic’ style of home-making lots of various foods, crafts, etc…
  • to keep up my workouts
  • to keep time open for friends 

Thus far, I’ve been doing pretty good,
I feel like I’m keeping up my workout so much, that alongside standing and walking at work for 8 hours, my legs are aging faster than I am. 

 

They are finally getting a rest today,
Sonrisa and I were planning on going to Zumba, but her mom surprised her!
So, I took the opportunity to let my legs rest and give my mouth a party.

I have made lots of different smoothies, and today I made one with my chocolate protein powder, frozen strawberries, almond milk, flax seed, and peanut butter. Wow. It was WONDERFUL.

As I put the strawberries away, I noticed a bundle of bananas I had frozen a while ago, because of a super sale of over ripe bunches. I took them out to create a new recipe.
I put three in my blender with milk, honey, maple syrup, an egg, and applesauce.
Blend Blend Blend.
Then I mixed quick oats, flour, chocolate chips, and a bit of baking powder.

I ended up dolloping Nutella on top…who could resist!?

~~~

Today at work, I was thinking of how awesome it was that I could end up working in the medical field for the rest of my life.

Running scripts with my scrubs on, I thought, “I’ll never have to worry about what to wear in the morning…”
I get benefits, insurance, a retirement matching program, and a whole lot more perks.
I have fabulous co-workers, we have treats all the time because we celebrate everyone’s birthday, the uplifting and tender hearts that I encounter just energize me.
Although, I do realize that I would do better having more patient interaction, I’m getting used to having ‘spurts’ of energy rather than having an altogether great day. It’s little sprinkles of happiness, which make me appreciate them more.
There is this realization of the huge adjustments that I have gone through in my life, creating in me this ‘grow up, get over it, get on with it’ thought process.
I’m harder on myself than anyone around me, which is probably how everybody feels…
But, anyways, when I was only 17, I flew out of the country for the first time to a place I had no relationship with, people I didn’t know, a language I didn’t speak, and expectations that were dismissed.
When I was only 18 I worked my butt off to pass a National test after a pharm. tech college course, while other people my age were just graduating high school.
When I turned 19, I was in for it…
There I was, up for the adventure, not realizing what I was truly getting myself into…
I moved to a place I had known only a few roads by name, got a new job, away from my family at church, parents, and Mi Amor.
I was blessed with an opportunity to put my ‘big girl pants’ on and begin a life where over 1/3 of my day was focused on work. Some of my co-workers probably don’t realize that they’ve served at St. Mary’s more than double my life span…

I have moments where I feel so incredibly blessed and yet extremely confused because my days pass by without me taking a breath.

Priorities…

there it is again!

I’m slowly stepping toward the characteristics and events I want to keep in my life and work on to improve.

Anyways…thanks for listening to me ramble..the muffins just got done!

Leave a Reply

