Passionate Reality

Love has a phenomenal way of impacting our lives…more so shaping them into what they will become.
It is a motivator for our actions and possibly a director of our paths.

Many are confused on what love really is…
Starting off with those three words, “I love you” and ending with a bitter, hurtful, angry separation; this is almost half of relationships…sad, isn’t it?
Do you know why?
I have my suspicions, of course, they could be wrong–like any other subject…
I changed my blog name to “Translucent Times” for a reason…my heart is in this blog. I’m translucent in many events and thoughts…so this is my deep inner self
…here is my elaboration:

Many people want excitement, adventure, and passion. Those three words may turn into “I love what I feel with you”. If love is based on feelings, how fickle and silly. If I went into a relationship with the mindset of it not being exciting ’till death do us part’ then, why would I enter into the relationship anyway? I’ll just get hurt in the end…
I guess many people focus on very temporary passion.

People often are confused on this subject…thee greatest subject: Love
Marriages begin with vows; choosing to love the other until last breath, despite the circumstances of life.
Love is a choice, not a feeling.

There is a difference between love and passion; choice and emotion.
αγάπη
Agape love
unconditional

God loved Israel despite their horrid lifestyle. He chose to love them based on His promise to be their God, and them His children.

A man named Jacob, who lived a very, very, very long time ago, worked seven years for “Rachel, who was lovely in form and beautiful,”.
“So, Jacob served seven years to get Rachel, but they seemed like only a few days to him because of his love for her.”
He hardly saw her throughout that time; he chose to love her before he even knew her heart…and kept choosing, for seven years without reward among them.

A king, who lived equally as long ago as Jacob, wrote a song about him and his wife.
Within the verses lie the result of what love yields.
Love leads to Passion
“Turn your eyes from me; they overwhelm me”
“altogether lovely”
“I am faint with love”
“…come away with me”
“Love is as strong as death, its jealousy unyielding as the grave, it burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame. Many water cannot quench love; rivers cannot wash it away”

 I just watched “The Vow” today, it’s about a young couple who hadn’t been married long at all, who were madly in love and passionate with each other. One snowy evening, a truck rear-ends them, causing the wife to be hospitalized for some time, due to head trauma, resulting in memory loss.
She forgets her marriage, everything before it she remembers…but not the best years of his life.
He loves her…the tug on my heart, feeling his deep, serving, silently screaming love for her to come back to him grew immensely.
The best part of this movie is that its based on a true story.

I would love to have passion as the king described; blazing fire, unquenchable, strong as death.

I have asked myself a few times, “why do I want to get married?”
the question has lingered…for so many passionate reasons it has lingered.
I think I can explain a corner of why:
&&I’m not meant to be alone: Gen 2:18
Although friendships are an important part of life, there is no human companionship as close as that of a husband and wife.
&&Ephesians says “wives submit to your husbands”
One day, I will marry a man so beyond any amazing degree I’ve ever known.
I interpret this command in Ephesians to be one of great, and I mean great importance.
On my wedding day, I’m showing that he is worth submitting to; conforming to his thoughts, opinions, desires.
My life will be his, everything I am will be his.

But, this takes leadership. It takes a respectful man to be worth having.
If women are to submit, then the man should be leading…leading out of love, not controlling.
He will help her grow spiritually and lead her on a journey walking the Way. He’ll fight her fights and bring her over the treacherous waters of life.
If he leads with a good heart, she’ll want to follow.

One thing I have recently found out…waiting to experience the representation of Christ’s love for the church has the possibility to be one of the hardest things I’ve yet to do.

3 thoughts on “Passionate Reality

  1. I completely agree with you ! The text about wives submitting scares me ! Because there are crazy guys out there that think it means control. It doesn’t, submitting means love. A man that Loves God with all his heart, will treat you respect because he understands Gods love . I wish more men understood what it really means.

    Like

  2. Yes, it may be one of the hardest things you have yet to do, but it will be worth it. I struggled for so long,and also came to the conclusion that like you desribe, a man worthy of that respect who will lead in love, is more worth waiting for than any other man. You are so wise, Sarah. Thank you for sharing your journey with us, I love reading what is on your heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

