Refined Character: Humility

Interestingly enough, God answered my prayer…

Ever find it perplexing knowing that when God answers your prayers, it may actually be a “No” or “Later”?

I prayed for change…
It hurts to change.
I’m being stripped of my pride…
I never thought of myself as a prideful person, until I realized the hurt I was experiencing was due to my own actions.
In the process of a prideful fit, the Spirit was showing me the right path and I stubbornly crossed my arms and refused to lighten up.
My life sucked for three days

Sure, I covered well, but on the inside, my heart was aching so hard.
I was a confused mess and was trying to deal with a waterfall of emotions…
Going from calm streams to rapids is quite the transition.

 I’m beginning to realize how difficult the balance is that we are called to be.
Unselfish, but with thinking yourself valuable; not worthless.
Loving, but understanding the various ways to show it.
Prayerful, but not ignorant of the actions needed to be taken.

The list goes on…

Amidst my conflict, I realized how much this is preparing me for marriage.
Sure, it’s probably years away–but that’ll give me plenty of practice in the meantime.

How wonderful it is, this time of the year to see guys carrying flowers.
To see women with sparks in their eyes.
There literally is “Love in the Air” 

I admire Valentine’s day because its a reminder, amongst other things, of once again forgetting yourself and focusing on your relationships.

Unselfishly serving Mi Amor is going to take some time.
I am so selfish, all too often.
But, just like Christ, I won’t go into marriage to be served, but TO serve.

12 When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them…15 I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.”

Practicing this lifestyle now, will help me with all the relationships in my life.
Christ is my perfect example of humility…

I am so slow sometimes…Its awesome He still loves me.

Leave a Reply

