Michelangelo’s Abyss

What can we gain by sailing to the moon if we are not able to cross the abyss that separates us from ourselves? This is the most important of all voyages of discovery, and without it, all the rest are not only useless, but disastrous.

I’m very much so looking forward to figuring out more of who I am what I want to become.

I was helping mi amor with some art history homework yesterday, which was fully enjoyable. While doing so, learned about a piece of Michelangelo’s, called Pietà.  

How beautifully impacting to have carved the Saviour of the world.

Michelangelo allowed his passions to choose his future. His God-given talent was his career, hobby, and heart-felt desire.
His inner beauty shined through into the face of his art work, elegantly perfecting the effortless craftsmanship.

Although, I have not read up on his life, I can imagine the quote above had relevance in his life. He must have had an abyss to sail through. Maybe it was current even in the midst of his passionate career; finding himself didn’t happen at age 13, maybe it took him his lifetime to truly be who he strived to be.

I was looking at some pictures of my Grandpa Captain tonight, he seemed like an adventurous cooky person…it makes me smile just thinking about it.
I wonder if he knew who he was…
Curiosity takes hold of me all too often; what had been the most impacting experience of his life? When, Who, What, Why, How?
Maybe I’ll figure out some answers when I’m in Minnesota…

 

I’m still in my abyss of searching, but either way, I’m sailing.

Leave a Reply

