Pittery Pattery Ponderings

So, I have this journal that my auntie Deb gave me for a graduation present. I use it as my quote book. I write down all these fun, make-you-smile, heartfelt, sincere, sad, serious, adorable, and quirky quotes that I’ve read.
Usually, I use this journal when I read a new book.
I’ll take notes and sometimes even use it as a journal of my thoughts…but hardly so.

I had just opened it up and read this piece of poetry from miss Elizabeth Elliot.

~
Hold Thou Thy cross between us, blessed Lord.
Let us love Thee. To us Thy power afford.
To remain prostrate at Thy pierced feet–
there is no other place where we may meet.

Set Thou our faces as a flint of stone
To do Thy will. Our goal be this alone.
O God, our hearts are fixed. Let us not turn
Consume all our affections, let Thy love burn.
~
When stormy winds against us break
Establish and reinforce our will;
O hear us for Thine own name’s sake,
Hold us in the strength and hold us still.

Still as the faithful mountains stand
Through the long silent years of stress,
So would we wait at Thy right hand,
In quietness and steadfastness.

But not of us this strength, O Lord,
And not of us this constancy;
Our trust is Thine Eternal Word,
Thy presence our security.

Waiting:
steadfastness, that is holding on;
patience, that is holding back;
expectancy, that is holding the face up;
obedience, that is holding one’s self in readiness to go or do;
listening, that is holding quiet and still so as to hear.

One thought on “Pittery Pattery Ponderings

  1. Hello Sarah Joy, what a remarkable young woman you are. I so praise the Lord for your deep faith and love for the Lord. May He continue to shine His light on you dear freind.

    This is Cheryl Strauel (Sandi Malis friend) who you worked with @ H & R Block

    Hope you are doing well, take care in Jesus!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

