Imperfection In Perfection

I’ve been thinking…
I went to the Sunday service at the church whom I play lead guitar for, in their college group.
The pastor’s sermon hit me.
hard.
I love it when that happens.
Sometimes, I hate it.

Here are some of his points:

Whether you miss the bus by 2 minutes or 2 hours, you still missed this bus.

We often grade on a curve; “compared to him, I’m a pretty great person”

Everything changed in Genesis 3; from beautiful perfection, to horrific disaster.

We’re worse than flip-flops at a formal affair.

We stand condemned; We’re all on death row.

To appreciate the goodness
of the Good News,
you need to understand
the badness of
the bad news.

If we down-play sin,
we down-play God.

 His points hit me.
I often do this-

think to myself, I’m doing good, I serve in a band, I serve my church, I talk to God like He’s human-formed still, I strive to pursue Him, I tell others about Him, I tithe, I have a compassion child….the list goes on…
Some of these, anybody can do.
Some of them, Christ followers act on.
But all of them, can come from my messed up life.

I am messed up,
I am a worm;
 a wretch;
,Sarah. 

There’s so much wrong with my life,
yet He loves me,
and He holds me as I get back on track.

It sucks.
I love being held by Him, but I let Him down

I hate being human.
I want more out of life,
wait,
I want to GIVE more life.
How can I assist mi dulce Salvador
in His work?
It’s more than giving out tracts
and wearing Jesus t-shirts.

I want to have that “Crazy Love” that He has for me.
I know I can never, EVER, duplicate it,
but I want to pursue perfection.

 I’ve been distracted.
Horribly.

In the pursuit of loving God,
I got distracted with

  • Impatience
  • Desire
  • Job
  • Stress
  • Worry
  • Tears

Why?

It really doesn’t make sense to me,
I’ve tried, but I fail.
I know I do.
But, just like in my job,
if I make a mistake,
I try not to dwell on it,
I try to learn from it and catch it’s entrance next time.

I had time before work this morning, to pray, and talk with mi dulce Salvador.
I pressed the pause button on my unimportant day to bask in His perfection.
My lunch break, I re-read the fifth chapter of “Crazy Love”.

.It rocked.

God’s definition of what matters is pretty straightforward.
He measures our lives by how we love…
‘if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love. I gain nothing.’

So, here I am.
In awe.
I need to act with a crazy love; absurd love; insane love
in the context of how unusual it is, because it’s so fierce.

I will spend my lifetime getting to know this love,
how it works,
and how to daily live it.
I’m willing though.
I’m ready.

 

Leave a Reply

