Ichthus Kentucky 2011

Aaron Gillespie*Abandon*Anberlin*Becoming the Archetype*Building 429*Children 18:3*Corpus Christi*Demon Hunter*Disciple*Fireflight*Flatfoot 56*For Today*Hillsong United* In the Midst of Lions*Ivoryline*Jason Castro*LeCrae*Living Sacrifice*My Heart Remains*Pacific Heights*Phil Keaggy*Sent By Ravens*Sleeping Giant*The Almost*The City Harmonic*The Great Commission*The Gunshow*The Wedding*White Collar Sideshow*Write this Down*

…Just some of the bands that were at Ichthus that I saw…

Within all the messages, worship, guitar solos, fired up symbols, white clouds, and Chick-Fil-A sandwhiches, I was overwhelmed.

They had a bunch of stages all over with all sorts of genres playing. My man and I were at the Heavy Metal stage the most.
And honestly, I enjoyed it immensely.

I casually cannot listen to Becoming the Archetype, but on stage; live,  they were amazing.

I used to have a problem with heavy metal, not finding the sense in it. I loved the instrumentals but when the growling//screamo stuff started I was gone in a flash–fleeing the scene ASAP.

Over the year and half I have been dating my love, I’ve slowly gotten more open and used to heavy metal, but he was always respectful of me not being as enthusiastic as he was, so we wouldn’t listen to it for long–or even any of it at times.

I believe that some of the most on-fire disciples of Jesus Christ are from Hardcore Christian bands, such as Tommie Green (Sleeping Giant) and Mattie Montgomery (For Today).
The lyrics of their songs reach out to the deeply hurt and they profess the grace and healing and love of Jesus Christ.

The best messages that I heard came from the Heavy Metal stage.

After my day of almost being purely at that stage, I came to the realization that screamo//growling is just another layer of music…
Just like the mandolin and the electric guitar, screamo and blues, they all present musical diversity.

I am so thankful that we have on-fire disciples that form screamo bands, because those kids who listen to that music can be reached by that music.
Most of the time people who listen to that music don’t like softer music, but God uses his people in whatever way He calls them to and He takes people to be His own through that.

I witnessed, in front of a thousand people, one person shoot his hand up in the air wanting to accept Christ as his Lord and Saviour at the Sleeping Giant concert.
ONE hand.
ONE step.
ONE real move to a life of sacrifice.

These bands are real. They present the love of Christ and make themselves nothing.
Many times I heard from the other side of the microphone, “I don’t care about our bands, I don’t care about the lights, just because we’re up here, doesn’t mean we’re better than you; none of this matters. What matters is the love that Jesus Christ has for you; you are not forgotten, you are worth something and He has a plan for your life.”

After Kentucky sunsets and embracing people in all their craziness, it came down to relationships.
Love is the greatest commandment.
Loving God and loving people.

Life is about relationships.

In every person we can see a piece of ourselves if we look deep enough.
We all wear masks and we all fail.
Being translucent in our failures; in our weaknesses, presenting  the grace and forgiveness of Christ–we are nothing.
God doesn’t need us, He chooses us.
He decides to love us, even though He doesn’t have to.
HE is what matters in this life. Jesus Christ is our master and as a disciple, we are to do everything in love out of service for Him.

“What is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? You made him a little lower than the angels; you crowned him with glory and honor and put everything under his feet.”
Hebrews 2:6b

“Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.”
James 5:16

Leave a Reply

