We’ve Got It Wrong

I just recently was given, by my boyfriend, the book “Religio-cide” written by Tommy Green.
The book is most importantly talking about the problem with churches today, turning the original intention of Christianity, which is a love relationship with Jesus Christ, into a religion.
I already gave the book back to my man, but I did take some notes, so I just want to rant a bit.

Here’s a jumble of quotes from different pages in the book; which I HIGHLY recommend you to read.

It is true, we should not walk in sin, and most of us try not to, but we do sin, even though our primary motivation at some level is to bring God pleasure with our lives. However, our main motivation and course in life, now that Jesus is with us, cannot focus on being helpless and hopeless in our inferiority and sin.
God’s love simply exists for you and for me, and it is passionate and fiery and consuming and jealous and hot.
It has absolutely nothing to do with your performance for God. As a matter of act, it is because of our performance as humanity on the earth that we ended up in a position of shame, broken-ness, despair, and deception. 

Stop trying to BE something for Him to EARN something from Him.
God’s greatest gift is His love for us, regardless of our performance. Stop focusing on trying to clean up your act; that’s just acting. 

Isn’t that crazy how we focus on our sin, rather than God’ grace?
A lot of the time I end up in a mud puddle of shame because of things I’ve done in my life, but that’s just inconsiderate. I know it’s HORRIBLE for me mull in my mistakes; I really should be focusing on God and making sure that I don’t miss the mark again.
If I focus on my sins, where is God in my life? Definitely not at the front.

He gets hurt when I mess up and drown in regret, but He’s there with open arms drawing me towards Him giving me an encouraging hug and saying “I will be merciful to your iniquities and I will remember your sins no more. Sarah, I love you.”

I’m not in anyway saying that it is alright to continue to sin (i.e. commit adultery, have sex out of marriage, dating a non-christian{(2 Cor. 6:14)}, and all the other commands God has given us)
I just mean to say that once we sin, we should realize how filthy we are and run to Jesus, asking for forgiveness and  committing our way unto the Lord! 

Committing your life to Jesus Christ is a daily thing, and sinning distracts us from that relationship. 

The problem is that most people aren’t really interested in looking like Jesus. It would seem that our definition of victory in Jesus is simply this: not sinning. That’s it? That’s the victory of Christ in us? I just don’t sin anymore? Wow…

See what I mean? We focus heavily on our wrongdoings rather than God’s grace and Jesus’ sacrifice.
Remember what Jesus did for you!!! It’s far more than you just ‘not sinning’, it’s respecting and loving Him for the actions He has taken. It’s pursuing a personal, relational, perfect Saviour. It’s looking towards His marvelous light and running to Him!

We can use our past sins and trials and temptations to encourage others along their way.
I have terrible control issues, I know what’s it like to basically slap God in His face and say “No, I’m doing this my way”
BOY AM I STUPID!!!!!!!!!!

But, I can warn others before they get to that point.
God’s beautiful forgiveness allows me to use this ugly thing to be some beautiful example. 

God took me out of the pit of darkness and rescued me, surrounding me in His loving arms.

Thank you Jesus for dying on the cross and rising on the third day.
Your agony and pain was because of me.
I crucified You.
I put you up there and murdered You.
I’m so sorry Lord, I fail so much.
Your indescribable grace and love astounds me and overcomes me.
YOU ARE GREAT AND MAJESTIC, ABOUNDING IN LOVE AND MERCY! 

One thought on “We’ve Got It Wrong

  1. I think so many times we just plain forget to focus on anything but trying to change and not sin.. how marvelous it is to know that we don’t have to focus on it! Such a blessing

    Like

Leave a Reply

