Land Of The Midnight Sun

Did I forget, in the midst of year transition, to post that I’m going to Alaska?

oops..

March 3rd through the 12th I’ll be with my Alaska team, which is made up of ten college-age young women and men, as well as three leaders.
We’ll be driving down to Chicago, where we will board our plane and fly into Anchorage. For the first two days of our week-long trip we will help out with the Iditarod; the famous dog-sled race. After the restart in Willow, Alaska, we will drive back down to Anchorage and do a variety of service projects, with options such as:
*Serving the homeless*Preparing food boxes for hungry villages*Working with orphan boys*Shoveling snow for the elderly*Help on a Habitat for Humanity home*Helping at a Head Start Center and Boys and Girls Club*Serving meals to Native American elders.

If we are able to only do a few of these and not all, I want to enforce my serving at the orphanage…I REALLY want to experience that! [[but you all knew that]]

I was blessed with the job of being a Client Service Professional at H&R Block for tax season. I look at it as God’s way of supplying my need for funds for this missions trip. I am deciding not to send out letters asking for financial support because only (exactly) six months ago did I fly to Panama. (I’ve officially been back home as long as I was serving our Creator in Panama)

God, Panama, and the people who enabled me to go, helped increase the fire within me to “go out and do”.  And within two weeks of being home, I basically set my eyes on this missions trip! (Thanks to one of my great friends who informed me)
I figure this month I’ll just ask for prayer support, as that is our most powerful weapon!

If you are interested in more information on what to pray for, what my next adventures with mi dulce Salvador are, or a miscellaneous reason, please feel free to e-mail me:
luv_2play_guitar@yahoo.com
~~~~~~
One of our leaders sent us an e-mail with a “Breath of Life Devotional” enclosed.
So, I will share with you tonight’s verses!

Psalm 55:17
Psalm 65:1-2
Psalm 122:6
Psalm 145:18
John 16:13
Galatians 5:13

Please pray for my Encounter with the Land of the Midnight Sun.

4 thoughts on “Land Of The Midnight Sun

  1. Wow, this is really cool to hear!! 😀 So happy for yoU! I’ll be praying for you! Praying the trip glorifies God more then anything else!! Can’t wait to hear more about it! 😀

    ~Micah

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for sharing Sarah! It is such a blessing to see you on fire for God and the desire you have to serve Him and others! I’ll definitely be praying for you as gear up for your next adventure! Keep us posted =]

    Like

    • Shawna!! It has been TOO long since I’ve seen you! Thanks so much for your comment!!!
      I’ll try my best to keep up the blogging, and when I”m in Alaska-I’ll try to journal, so I can relay it to a post on here!!!

      Like

      • Yes it definitely has been way too long! It has been strange not seeing everyone since I’ve moved. I always love reading what you have to write. Alaska should be a great adventure, I can’t wait to hear about it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

