Fruit #2

JOY

Definition: the emotion of great delight or happiness caused by someone or something exceptionally good or satisfying

Seeing that, as a believer, I should ALWAYS be joyful, because I ALWAYS have Jesus, who is exceptionally good!
But…am I?
Sadly, no.
I need to be joyful no matter my circumstances, no matter the pain…because I have Jesus Christ and He can help me through any situation.
Focusing on the wonderful things is terribly hard for some people, and yes we need to address those roadblocks in relationships, but when its an issue of ourselves why do we grouch and complain?
There is no need to complain about anything.
No matter how bad you think it is, there is something far worse that could be happening. Let’s listen to Paul for a moment:

I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.

This dude was in PRISON! Can you imagine how horrid that would be? Here he was, sent by God, and he ended up in prison…yet look at his response; his perspective changed, but it was more optimistic and he gained more knowledge; he grew in Christ.

Sometimes, our hard circumstances push us away from God, more so than bring us closer to Him.
If we only found JOY in the Lord and danced in His arms no matter if we are at the brink of death or on our way to a cruise, well or sick, bones or fat.

That ‘secret’ that Paul was talking about, it’s the last sentence; “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength”
If we choose to look to the Son rather than the dark ground our attitude changes.

Next time you are in a horrible situation, think of what God has done for you in the past, what He has pulled you through, your blessings and REMEMBER: God is with you, He’s not just watching you struggle without feeling hurt,  He tests our love for Him.
Continuously seeking His face and finding joy no matter the wait, that’s the real test.


Leave a Reply

