Diversity

Wow, so much has happened since my last post, I don’t think I’ll be able to go into lots of detail on everything because you’ll be reading for five hours.

I went from construction to tailor on Wednesday.

Landon and I made clown pants tall enough for him to wear and stand on stilts. It was a circus theme for the kids and so we dressed up and decorated a bit. We made the pants from scratch, using the piano cover and an old sewing machine. ((latest post proves even more–thanks mom, for teaching me how to sew–it was INSANELY helpful))


Landon and Jordan were GREAT with the kids, along with a woman named Michelle, who helped me paint faces.

I still can’t believe that Landon and I ACTUALLY made pants from scratch….it’s just so crazy!

From tailor to filthy wall builder

blue chalk lines for the guide to our wall


the wall is UP!


Insulation next

COMPLETE!

putting up the insulation and sheet rock totally got me super dirty-but the pictures don’t do justice.

Me and Jordan

my arms were a totally different color, the camera just seemed to erase most of it

Sorry about how crazy all the pictures are placed!

From filthy wall builder to surfer

I’m sorry there’s no pictures of us actually surfing, my camera isn’t waterproof.

It was a BLAST, I can now officially check off ‘learn to surf’ off of my Bucket list!! WHOOT! Yesterday was soooo fun. Even just listening to the giant waves crash and roll in and collide with the river. (oh yeah, I can check off ‘go cliff diving’ off my Bucket list too) The river that flowed into the ocean was so much colder, we went there after our first surfing lesson (by Landon) and I jumped off a cliff into the waters below for the first time. WHAT A RUSH!! I LOVED IT!

I have experienced so many ‘firsts’ here, it’s crazy! First time swimming in the ocean, surfing, cliff diving, seeing a pelican, eating certain Chinese food, going out of the country, flying by myself, etc… the list goes on and on.

The ocean was sooo amazing, the saltiness just washed me clean. I enjoyed just diving under the waves as the white wash rumbled in front of me. My eyes burned from the salt, but it was worth it…WELL WORTH IT. I got a crazy burn (even though I put on sunscreen-I’m even more of a gringo now) on my face and I will stand out even MORE…hooray :/

I have come to think that all these changes and differences are the best thing for me right now, cause I want adventure, and if things were the same here as they are back in the states, then what would be the difference between here and back home? There HAS to be culture change//living change//reason to adapt, for this to be an adventure!
~~~

Relient K-Give
Yeah I’ll give give give (until there’s nothing else)
Give my all (until it all runs out)
Give give (and I’ll have no regrets)
I’ll give until there’s nothing left
I’ll give

~~~
I think that this chorus has been the song that has gone through my mind the most, while I’ve been here. Everybody here just GIVES so much of themselves. Landon, Jordan, Jonathan, Randy, Donna, Bob, Juan Carlos, Augustine, Paco, Susanna, and the list goes on and on! People here are life givers, they use the abilities and passions and love that God gave them, to give back to Him. It keeps me keeping on. I just have to match their ability-it’s the competitive athlete in me.
The people from the church are extremely nice too; I’ll pass somebody while I’m working and they’ll say with a smile, “hola Sarah” and I return the expression and “hola” but feel horrible for not remembering their name.  But they don’t mind. They just love to welcome people.
Donna and Randy have given so much of themselves to those around them; they are constantly having people stay in their home and supplying the needs of them.
God has given me so many examples and great role models here, at home, and everywhere I go. They all help me strive to become a better person.

Having my heart open to whatever gets tossed at me next and keeping focused on Christ-that’s the secret to enjoying life no matter what.

Christ is always the key.

Leave a Reply

