Tragedy & it’s ‘could-be’ effects

It never really came as a big thought to me, but I’ve recently been thinking about death a lot…I mean this not as a dark post, but an uplifting one…just bear with my slow and wandering mind.

My thoughts have targeted death because

  • A. In Bible study we’ve been talking about the tribulation
  • B. I just recently read “She Said Yes” about Cassie Bernall
  • C. Frequent suicides and car crashes that have been in the lives of others around me.

Questions that have come to my attention:

How will I die?
How old will I be?
Where will I be?
etc…

It is commonly said, “live life, like you’re dying” “live today to its fullest” “no regrets” and all that jazz…but honestly-how serious do we take those?

We don’t completely think we’ll be that person that dies tomorrow or before age 50, but are we?

Will we be faced with the same question that Cassie had been asked before her death: “Do you believe in God?”
Somebody out there is going to die tomorrow…someone tonight…someone this hour…how creepy is that?
That person could be you…I hate being a downer, but it’s true.
I’d like you to answer some questions, pertaining to if you died a week from today:

  • How would your behavior change?
  • Would you try your hardest to not get into arguments?
  • If you have a bucket list…would you try to fulfill it?
  • Would you reach out to those hurting?
  • Anything you’d like to add?

I think we all need to think more about how we can improve our lives. Material things are so temporary, why do we  spend so much money on them? Most of our lives are so pointless, because we are not focused on the right thing…the right person…

God has a purpose for our lives, and us Christians all have one in common; getting the Word out to unbelievers.

One day Christians chanted in Hebrew, as an interpreter explained. It was a tribute to the country’s martyrs, and the translation ran something like this:
“My death is not my own, but yours, and its significance depends on what you do with it.”

What we do with the martyrs’ deaths give them significance…
Sometimes we just need a reality check; a slap in the face, to put us on the right path so that we can honestly, take no advantage of any day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I want to include some quotes that I find quite intriguing.

“Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives, that we are dying. Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day. Do it! I say. Whatever you want to do, do it now! There are only so many tomorrows.”

“If you read history you will find that the Christians who did most for the present world were precisely those who thought most of the next. It is since Christians have largely ceased to think of the other world that they have become so ineffective in this.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Now the thing is, I’m not terrified of dying, because my Jesus saved me; I will be with Him in Heaven, but others don’t have that same hope that I do.
I need to get out there, so that God can use me to turn the lost hearts to hope-filled lovers.

Sorry if I don’t make too much sense…but this is my recent thoughts and like I said in my first post, ‘I need to get them out’


2 thoughts on “Tragedy & it’s ‘could-be’ effects

  1. Hey Great post!! Seriously!! I loved it!! I have often wondered those same questions and all too often I hear stories of people suddenly dying and i never think, “oh that could be me!” Heck we tend to have our whole lives planned out for us and we don’t know if we are going to be alive five minutes from now.

    I really like the post! Got me thinking. 🙂

    ~miranda

    Like

  2. How would your behavior change? – I’ve thought about this a lot.. And, I think I would be less worried about money and paying off my debt, and more passionate about loving those around me.. and I mean totally giving everything I have to ensure that people KNOW without a doubt they are loved by me and by our Savior… 🙂 And I might travel more 😉

    Would you try your hardest to not get into arguments? – Absolutely!

    If you have a bucket list…would you try to fulfill it? For sure.. without any doubts 🙂

    Would you reach out to those hurting? – Since this is sorta my life goal.. I’d easily say yes. 🙂

    Anything you’d like to add? – I think about this a lot too… and it truly honestly pains my heart to think about the people I have known and was friends with that do not know Jesus.. I grieve deep down for their loss, and their lack of understanding what I take for granted daily. I think that it is important to keep in mind that other people and truly unconditionally loving them is always supposed to be our priority.

    Love you beautiful girl 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

