Tips

Today, I have decided that I am going to share with you, blog-world, some things that I use on a weekly//daily basis that work great for me:

I have terribly dry skin and I was struggling with it this winter specifically…I think this is partly due to the fact that I am terrible at staying hydrated through drinking water. I love water, it’s just that I never get thirsty for it, so I’m not reminded that I NEED it.

I use Nutrogena Moisture Wrap lotion–WOWZERS does this stuff work wonders!!! I am using oodles of it, and I don’t think I will ever go back to another body moisturizer.

Mary Kay’s Velocity face wash and moisturizer work wonderful for my face. And when I need an extra deep clean I do a face mask-usually a St. Ives. If I have a sudden blemish, I use Avon’s Clearskin* Immediate Response Spot Treatment.
When my face starts to dry out drastically, I mix this Mary Kay super moisturizer (it comes in a cute little glass jar, but I don’t know what it’s called, it’s a light pink though) with my regular Velocity moisturizer. This helps me tremendously!!!

For my curly hair-I use Herbal Essences Totally Twisted collection, it’s fantastic and smells great too!
Sometimes for an extra moisture boost (again, dry skin equals dry scalp) I use Queen Helene Cholesterol Hot Oil Treatment, it gets the job done 🙂 (I found this at Dollar General, it’s in a three pack for CHEAP=WHOOT!)

Now, I love all things coconut. BUT-my extreme favorite cannot be found in stores, but twice a year. Bath & Body Works’ Exotic Coconut. ohhhh dannnggg this stuff is SO marvelous; indescribable pleasantries.

Some GREAT health tips for a “going green” world.

+WHEAT GERM: a good source of important B vitamins, such as folic acid, thiamin, vitamin B6 and minerals like magnesium, manganese, and zinc. Especially rich in Vitamin E. It also contains Octacsanol: a substance that helps to:

  • Fight against muscular disorders such as muscular dystrophy and neuromuscular problems.
  • Lower cholesterol bad cholesterol levels
  • Improve muscular energy and provides endurance during exercise.
  • Provides longevity and vitality
  • Improves reflexes
  • Improves the utilization of oxygen during exercise.
  • Adjust the body during stress.

+FLAXSEED: There’s some evidence it can help reduce your risk of heart disease, cancer, stroke, and diabetes.

Although flaxseed contains all sorts of healthy components, it owes its healthy reputation primarily to three ingredients:

  • Omega-3 essential fatty acids, “good” fatty acids, are shown to have heart-healthy effects. Each tablespoon of ground flaxseed contains about 1.8 grams of plant omega-3.
  • Lignans, which have both plant estrogen and antioxidant qualities. Flaxseed has 75- 800 times more lignans than other plant foods
  • Fiber. Flaxseed contains both the soluble and insoluble types.

So yeah, I just had to share those two plants with you, dear blog-world, because I eat them all the time, and find that it just makes me feel better knowing more about what I’m eating.

I have started running again! It has been marvelous weather in Michigan! I love those days when I can go outside in a tank top and shorts, not be cold, and there be snow on the ground-it is just plain magical. 🙂

Running is so wonderful, to me. I always love the thought of me helping myself in the long run (no pun intended). I know that it strengthens my heart and helps balance my body out. Thank God for these wonderful days that we have, filled with sunshine and warm breezes.

Getting in shape is always the hard part, but in the three days that I’ve been persistent, I have already seen a TREMENDOUS difference. 🙂 yay 🙂 Oh I dread the conditioning season, but when the time comes, when I’ll be in shape, I will definitely enjoy the long loop around the fields.

3 thoughts on “Tips

  1. All I have to say is GO CURLY HAIR!! : ) And go running!! I loved running the other day in shorts and a tee shirt and having snow in the ground all at the same time!! That definitely only happens in Michigan!! It’s awesome!!

    ~Micah

    Like

  2. Unlike you and micah my hair is not curly at all, but GO CURLY HAIR anyway!! 🙂 I love running as well especially since it is getting warm outside!! I HATE running on the treadmil!! It is SO boring!! I am running a 10K with some of my family later this year and I’m pumped about it!! i’ve only ever run a 5k but i enjoyed it and it helped me get in better shape!! 🙂

    ~Miranda

    Like

Leave a Reply

