Love Language

Ok, so there’s this book called “The Five Love Languages”, it has tons of different forms.
I just recently read the ‘Singles Edition’…meaning you are not married.

I am dating, but am still considered single-by this standard.

SO-I read this book and find it very helpful in my life. I will start by helping you understand what the love languages are:

1. Words of Affirmation (good job, I’m proud of you, etc..)
2. Quality Time (no words needed, you just love being with them)
3. Gifts (you make//buy gifts and give them for no specific reason and/or on holidays)
4.  Physical Touch (hugs, holding hands, kissing, just touching in general-you show love through touch)
5. Acts of Service (doing dishes without being asked, helping when unneeded, etc.)

These are the five languages. Every person that God created (which is all of us) uses these languages to express our love to others. Now, this book teaches us how to show our love to others based on THEIR love languages.
For instance, your mom’s love language is physical touch, and yours is quality time, you get a hug from her, because that’s her way of showing love, but your ‘love tank’ isn’t filled, because you would rather spend time together.
This is an example of how some relationships becoming mundane. It is very important in relationships to understand each other’s way of expressing love.

Each person has at least one primary and one secondary love language.
I have two primaries: Quality Time && Gifts
My secondary: Physical Touch

Now, I’m not sure how different I am from other people on this topic, but for me, the category of ‘Gifts’ means to me, simplicity.
I am partial to things that are handmade and hand-picked.
Example: I’m going for a walk along the beach with my friend, and it has been a marvelous day so far, and I want to remember it. So, I want to hand-pick//receive something that can last for a lonnggg time as a reminder of this day; a neat stone, a glass bottle with sand//shells//drift wood in it, a flower, etc..
I would rather receive a hand-made necklace than a store-bought one, one simple wild-flower and not a dozen roses, etc…(although these are still wonderful gifts!!!)

Anywho-I recommend this book for any person. There are many things having to do with relating to others in general, so it’s a great life book.

If you would like to hear more ideas from me about this, then feel free to express that in a comment-I would love to rant more about The Five Love Languages upon request 🙂


One thought on “Love Language

  1. Hey Sarah,

    I remember when my dad told me about the five love languages. My primary is Words of Affirmation. When i was younger i used to leave notes on my parents bed saying how much I love them. If i help someone with something I find it more encouraging to get a letter from them or them telling me thanks then giving me a hug or something. I’ll take a hug anyday, don’t get me wrong, but words written or said are much more encouraging.

    My second is probably gifts. I absulotely LOVE getting gifts for people!! I would rather spend ten bucks on someone else then me!! So i guess gifts are my way of showing people i love them or care about them and words are how i interprate other peoples affection for me.

    I love hearing about other peoples love languages cause even if I”m not in love with them i still know how to please them and encourage them the most!! 🙂

    thanks for sharing you love language with us!!
    I’ll have to check out that book!! It sounds interesting!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s