Tulip…

  • Total Depravity
  • Unconditional Election
  • Limited Atonement
  • Irresistible Grace
  • Perseverance of the Saints

Total Depravity:

Sin has affected all parts of man; the heart, emotions, will, mind, and body are all affected by sin. We are naturally slaves to sin.
Romans 6:20 “When you were slaves to sin, you were free from the control of righteousness.”
Ephesians 2:3 “All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath.”

Unconditional Election:

God does not base His election on anything He sees in the individual. He chooses the elect according to the kind intention of His will (see verses below) without any consideration of merit within the individual.  Also, as some are elected into salvation, others are not (Rom. 9:15, 21).

Romans 9:11 & 12 “Yet, before the twins were born or had done anything good or bad–so that God’s purpose in election might stand; not by works but by Him who calls…”

Limited Atonement:

Jesus only bore the sins of the elect. Support for this position is drawn from such scriptures as Matt. 26:28 where Jesus died for ‘many’. John 17:9; Jesus states in His prayer that some will not be saved.

Irresistible Grace:

When God calls his elect into salvation, they cannot resist.  This call is by the Holy Spirit who works in the hearts and minds of the elect to bring them to repentance and regeneration whereby they willingly and freely come to God. Romans 9:16, “It does not, therefore, depend on man’s desire or effort, but on God’s mercy.”

Perseverance of the Saints:

You cannot lose your salvation. Because the Father has elected, the Son has redeemed, and the Holy Spirit has applied salvation, those thus saved are eternally secure.
John 10:28 “I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Although I am a five point Calvinist, I do not agree with the traditional belief of God determining who is going to be saved, before they were even born. Ephesians 1:4&5 “For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. In love He predestined us to be adopted as His songs through Jesus Christ, in accordance with His pleasure and will.”

I believe that these verses are talking about God planning for Jesus Christ, before the creation of the world, just in case we chose to sin. God gave us choice, that is why He did not stop Adam and Eve, because He gave us free will.

This carries on to God knowing our future, already having our lives planned out. I believe that God has boundaries that He sets for us, that we cannot jump over, but He does not know every detail of our future. He has called some people (as seen in the Bible) to have certain details in their lives, but He knows our hearts//minds so, He can make things happen.

There is not a set date when the second coming will be fulfilled. We effect that time. We determine when Christ comes again, by how fervent we are with getting the Gospel out to unbelievers.

Now, I don’t want to get comments disagreeing with me about this, because I do not wish to have a theological deep discussion over my blog. If you have an issue with my beliefs, I ask you to message me in an email or my Facebook where we can discuss privately for our eyes only.
I am still young and changing my views, I am just posting my current beliefs for the sake of your eyes seeing my point of view. If you believe something different, I would love to hear your side of this topic, like I said earlier, in a message. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Tulip…

Leave a Reply

